Skip to main content

Excellence Canada Announces the 2023 Canada Awards for Excellence Recipients (BDDEC Wins)

Full Story Here

TORONTO, October 25th, 2023

Excellence Canada is pleased to announce it will be celebrating the 39th anniversary of the Canada Awards for Excellence on November 17th. This year, 12 awards will be presented to outstanding Canadian organizations in recognition of their commitment to continual improvement and pursuit of excellence. Award categories include: Organizational Excellence, Excellence, Innovation & Wellness®; Healthy Workplace®; and Mental Health at Work®.

Excellence Canada’s mission is to help organizations in all sectors become the best-in-class by implementing standards of excellence. Excellence Canada is a not-for-profit organization that certifies and recognizes organizations that embody these attributes: they are innovative, customer-focused, competitive, financially and environmentally sustainable, are good corporate citizens, actively pursue strategies to improve the mental and physical health and wellbeing of their employees, and they create a healthy workplace culture that attracts and retains the best people.

The Canada Awards for Excellence is an annual awards program established in 1984 that recognizes outstanding achievements by organizations in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors coast-to-coast across Canada.

Shirlee Sharkey, Chair of Excellence Canada, said, “On behalf of the Board of Directors of Excellence Canada, I am very pleased to present the Canada Awards for Excellence to this year’s award recipients. I would like to extend congratulations to all of these organizations that have met the rigorous standards and requirements through the Canada Awards for Excellence program. You are all truly role-models of excellence.”

Allan Ebedes, President and CEO of Excellence Canada, remarked, “Over the past 39 years we have recognized more than 690 outstanding organizations in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors that have met the highest standards for quality, excellence, innovation, and healthy workplaces. This year we are delighted to be presenting the coveted Canada Awards for Excellence to 12 excellent organizations. We are also honoured to be presenting the Board of Governors’ Special Recognition of Achievement Awards to three distinguished Canadians: Ajay K. Agrawal, David R. Beatty, and Dr. Samir K. Sinha.”

The awards will be presented at the 2023 Performance Excellence Summit and Canada Awards for Excellence on Friday, November 17th. For complete event details and registration, please visit


For further information, contact:
Allan Ebedes, President and CEO, Excellence Canada, Tel: 416-251-7600, ext. 230


Recipients of the 39th Canada Awards for Excellence, 2023



This award is based on Excellence Canada’s Excellence, Innovation and Wellness® Standard which was developed by Excellence Canada in association with its partners and professionals from across Canada.

Silver Award Recipients
▪ Garantie de construction résidentielle (GCR) – Montréal, Québec
▪ Greenfield Global Quebec Inc. – Varennes, Québec
▪ Logistik Unicorp Inc. – Saint-Jean-sur Richelieu, Québec
 Quebec Metallurgy Center – Cégep de Trois-Rivières, Québec



The Excellence Canada Healthy Workplace® Standard was developed in partnership with Health Canada and in association with professionals from the health and wellness sectors.

Platinum Recipient

Gold Award Recipient
▪ Ricoh Canada Inc. – Mississauga, Ontario

Silver Award Recipient
▪ Peel Regional Police – Mississauga, Ontario



This award is based on Excellence Canada’s – Mental Health at Work® framework. The Mental Health at Work® framework was developed by Excellence Canada in association with mental health and work safety professionals from across Canada, and the requirements incorporate principles and practices as outlined in the National Standard of Canada for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace.

Gold Award Recipient
▪ Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit – Brockville, Ontario

Silver Award Recipient
▪ Across Boundaries: An Ethnoracial Mental Health Centre – Toronto, Ontario



This award is based on Excellence Canada’s Organizational Excellence Standard which was developed by Excellence Canada in association with its partners and professionals from across Canada. It is a robust yet flexible framework that uses a data-driven assessment to find gaps and opportunities for continual improvement in all private and public sector organizations, businesses, and institutions. Through Organizational Excellence Standard implementation and certification, organizations will adopt best practices for sustained excellence and peak performance.

Order of Excellence Recipient
▪ SE Health – Markham, Ontario

Platinum Award–Recipient
▪ Enterprise Technology Strategy, Government Information Technology Ontario (GovTechON), Ministry of Public & Business Service Delivery – Toronto, Ontario

Gold Award Recipient
▪ Students and Enrolment Division, Carleton University – Ottawa, Ontario

Silver Award Recipient
▪ Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council – Inuvik, Northwest Territories



From time-to-time, the Excellence Canada Board of Governors recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian society and/or the global human condition. Past Award recipients have included Dr. David Suzuki, former Prime Minister The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Lt.-General The Honourable Roméo A. Dallaire, The Honourable Flora MacDonald, Sir Richard Branson, Mr. Rick Hansen, Ms. Margaret Trudeau, Rick Mercer, Bianca Andreescu and Mr. Chris Hadfield.

This year, in keeping with the Summit theme “Moving Forward with Excellence”, the Board of Governors is presenting the Special Recognition of Achievement Award to:

• Ajay K. Agrawal, Geoffrey Taber Chair in Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto and NBER, in recognition of groundbreaking work in Artificial Intelligence and distinguished service at the Rotman School of Management and the Creative Destruction Lab.

• David R. Beatty, C.M., O.B.E., F.ICD, CFA, Founding Director, The David & Sharon Johnston Centre for Corporate Governance Innovation, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto, in recognition of lifelong commitment to advancing Corporate Governance Innovation and fostering education at the Rotman School of Management.

• Dr. Samir K. Sinha, MD, DPhil, FRCPC, AGSF, Peter and Shelagh Godsoe Chair in Geriatrics and Director of Geriatrics, Sinai Health and the University Health Network, Professor of Medicine, Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto and Adjunct Professor of Medicine Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, in recognition of exceptional research and work on developing